A Personal Journey

Migrate to Melbourne. Good Meh?

Reflection After Ten Years In Melbourne

Elye - A One Eye Dev By His Grace
35 min readAug 26, 2024

--

Photo by Dylan Lu on Unsplash

In August 2014, my family and I took a bold step and moved from our comfortable life in Penang to the relatively unfamiliar city of Melbourne. It’s been exactly ten years!

If you’re looking for a TLDR: In short, it’s not always greener, nor is it always greyer. Like anything in life, there are two sides to the story.

I feel obligated to share our experience, as it might help other families considering a similar move gain a better understanding of what to expect and minimize the risk of making a regretful decision. If my experience can help others make a more informed choice, then it’s worth sharing.

However, it’s important to note that what I share is just one data point. It may not fully represent everyone’s experience, and circumstances can change over time. So, take this information with a grain of salt.

My View of Malaysia

Malaysia, to me, is a great country with abundant natural resources and no major natural disasters. I was born in Penang and had the privilege of studying in a vernacular primary school that primarily taught in Mandarin, while also learning English and Malay. This allowed me to connect with my ethnic roots…

--

--