Beware Xcode features that confuses an Android Developer

Elye - A One Eye Dev By His Grace
4 min readApr 17, 2019

My first attempt of using Xcode is at the beginning of 2018. As an Android Developer, I thought I should have a good grip on it as it’s just another mobile development platform.

However after trying it out, and my first experience on it, it confuses me so much, and that stops me from trying it again for almost a year. Until recently, get back into it, and have better grasp on it. From there I think could sum up this two confusing features that deter me from trying on the last time.

Share with you here so you could avoid the pitfall, and know how to handle it.

Constraint Setting

In Android, we mostly use Padding or Margin to distance a view from its neighboring view. In ConstraintLayout, we do add constraint between two views in the layout XML. Most changes are done in XML (programmatically)..

Sorry, I am not acquainted with the UI Design Interface in Android Studio yet

In iOS, setting Constraint is everyday life as AutoLayout is be backbone to the building the fundamental user interface.

--

--